## IEA SHC 2010 Solar Award Recipient

## Helmut Jäger

## Graz, Austria (October 1, 2010)

The IEA Solar Heating and Cooling Programme presented its 2010 SHC SOLAR AWARD to **Helmut Jäger**, founder and general manager of Solvis Energyiesysteme GmbH. Mr. Jäger received the award at EuroSun 2010: International Conference on Solar Heating, Cooling and Buildings in Graz, Austria.

"Mr. Helmut Jäger is a pioneer in the market development of solar thermal collectors and

systems in Germany and throughout Europe," states Mr. Markus Kratz, the German delegate to the IEA Solar Heating and Cooling Executive Committee. He adds, "Helmut's work does not solely focus on the financial growth of his company, Solvis. He follows a sustainable and holistic business model and tries to implement innovative technologies through demonstration as at the Solvis Zero-Emission Factory. Helmut Jäger is a networker for a 'solar energy future' as vice chair of Bundesverband Solarwirtschaft, and an active participant in the German Solar Thermal Technology Platform. The solar community is fortunate to have such an advocate '



SHC Solar Award recipient Helmut Jäger and SHC Chairman Werner Weiss

The SHC SOLAR AWARD is given to an individual, company, or private/public institution that has shown outstanding leadership or achievements in the field of solar heating and cooling, and that supports the work of the IEA Solar Heating and Cooling Programme.

Mr. Helmut Jäger is the sixth recipient of the SHC SOLAR AWARD. He was selected for his extensive work in the development of innovative solar thermal technologies. In 1988, Mr. Jäger founded Solvis, a thermal solar systems manufacturer. Over the next twenty plus years, Solvis has produced products ranging from stratified solar storage tanks and solar condensing boilers to solar collectors. In 2007, Solvis became a leading producer of absorbers in Europe. Solvis has maintained a commitment to environmental stewardship, and in 2002 opened Europe's largest zero-emission factory.

Today, Mr. Jäger is active in many organizations to promote solar energy. Since 1997 he has been a board member of Bundesverband Solarwirtschaft, the German National Solar Energy Association, and in 2008 was nominated to the advisory committee of the German Federal Environmental Foundation. He is also a member of the advisory board of the Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems ISE.

Mr. Jäger is joined by Manuel Collares Pereira, Volker Wittwer, Jan-Olof Dalenbäck, William Beckman, and Torben Esbensen as a recipient of this award. The SHC Programme believes that it is important to recognize leaders in the field of solar energy not only for their contributions, but also to promote solar energy as a viable energy source for heating and cooling. Our commitment to expand the market share of solar energy is demonstrated through our work – please visit our web site www.iea-shc.org.

## Contact:

Pamela Murphy — Secretariat, IEA Solar Heating & Cooling Programme p.murphy@kmgrp.net www.iea-shc.org

