

## **FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE**

## IEA SOLAR HEATING & COOLING PROGRAMME PRESENTS SOLAR AWARD TO JAN-OLOF DALENBÄCK

**Freiburg, Germany (June 21, 2005) –** The International Energy Agency's (IEA) Solar Heating & Cooling Programme is committed to expanding the market share of solar energy. By recognizing outstanding contributions made in the solar field, the IEA Solar Heating and Cooling (SHC) Programme is drawing the world's attention to solar energy as a source for heating and cooling.

This year's SHC SOLAR AWARD was presented to **Dr. Jan-Olof Dalenbäck**, Professor at the Chalmers University in Sweden, at the 2<sup>nd</sup> European Solar Thermal Energy Conference in Freiburg, Germany.

The award is given to an individual, company, or private/public institution that has shown outstanding leadership or achievements, with links to the IEA Solar Heating and Cooling Programme, in the field of solar energy at the international level within one or more of the following sectors:

- Technical developments
- Successful market activities
- Information

Dr. Dalenbäck is the third recipient of the Award. He was selected for his significant contributions to the realization of large-scale solar district heating networks, the development of a roof module with an integrated solar collector, and the renovation of buildings using solar applications. His work over the past 20 years has resulted in the successful transfer of solar thermal technologies in Sweden as well as in other countries. Dr. Dalenbäck contributed his expertise to three successful IEA SHC Programme projects in the areas of central solar heating plants with seasonal storage, solar energy in building renovation, and solar water heater procurement.



SHC Solar Award designed by Marco Goldenbeld of the Netherlands.

In addition to his contributions to the IEA SHC Programme, Dr. Dalenbäck is a Professor of Building Services Engineering at Chalmers University in Göteborg, serves as the national liaison officer for ISES Europe, the ISES Vice-President of Industries, and is a member of the SEAS Board of Directors.